top of page
Search
  • fourtheducation

4 Signs You've Chosen the Wrong Major





Photo credit: College Candy


According to the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES, 2017), “within 3 years of initial enrollment, about 30 percent of undergraduates in associate’s and bachelor’s degree programs who had declared a major had changed their major at least once.” I was one of those students. I tried to stick it out as a pre-med biology major, ignoring all the signs that medicine was not the career for me. Eventually, after three years I changed my major to education - BEST decision I ever made. It's never too late (sort of) to change your major, but if you can avoid waiting as long as I did, you can save a lot of money and time. Below are four signs you've chosen the wrong major.



1. You’re failing everything.


Ok. This might be a bit of an exaggeration, but if you’re finding your core classes to be extremely difficult and struggling to even get a “D” it could be for two reasons: 1) you need to be more disciplined in your studying and prep or 2) this major isn’t aligned with where your talents, skills, AND interests. This doesn’t mean your ideal major will be easy, but information will come easier, you’ll catch on faster, and you’ll be genuinely interested in what you’re learning.


2. You don’t care.


If you’re sitting in class and bored out of your mind, it could be because your professor literally talks the whole time OR it’s because you don’t really care about what you’re learning. When I changed my major from pre-med biology to education, I went from stressing out and falling asleep in class to pouring my creativity into every lesson plan assignment. Your true major will push you to be invested in improving future outcomes and having an impact in the field.


3. You’re only in it for the money.


Now don’t get me wrong, money is important, but it isn’t everything. If you’re only interested in a major for the money, be real with yourself, is that going to be enough? Money can buy you happiness, but happiness is fleeting. It’s here for a moment, then gone. Money can’t buy you joy. Joy is fulfilling. Joy is lasting. When you’ve found joy, you’ve found your purpose. When you love what you do, you won’t work a day in your life. Opportunities to advance your career and make the type of money you want will be there. Better yet, you’ll create those opportunities. I chose pre-med initially because of the money. Thank God I changed to education! That decision has allowed me to experience immense joy AND make the kind of money I want.


4. You’re only in it because of what your parents want.


I get it. We all want to make our parents proud, but you have to live your life. Really ask yourself, “Will this make ME happy?”. Sometimes there’s pressure from parents to become doctors, lawyers, or be next up to run the family business. This pressure to succeed could come from a place of love, but it won’t help you achieve your full potential. You could meet all of your parents’ expectations and they still may not be satisfied. You must have your own goals in life. The path to success will be full of highs and lows, happiness and despair, so you might as well chart your path on your own terms.



Comment below with other signs you've chosen the wrong major.


Like this blog post? Please share with a college student and text and follow me today!

Text “@grind2grad” to “81010” for weekly college motivation and tips!


Follow @GrindToGrad and @FourthEducation on Instagram and Twitter


15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page